Troubled Filipino Teens

The Filipino culture advocates laughter like it will solve everything in this world. I know laughter makes things bearable to a certain extent but at the end of the day, maybe the person will just end up feeling bad because he doesn’t fit in with the typical happy Pinoy. I know, because that’s how I felt. Now, I have learned to laugh and be genuinely happy. Day by day, I laugh more and actually feel happy.

But it really bothers me a whole lot that I can’t do anything for all the other Filipino kids who are cutting themselves to cope with emotional pain, those who laugh with their barkadas but wet their pillows at night with their tears, those who have split personalitites, those who have been abused as kids or as adults, those who feel isolated from everyone else, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

I’ve been planning to make a forum just like Safe Haven. It’s a forum for the people like the ones I mentioned above. And everyone else in between. Th last time I checked, I was the ony one from the Philippines who was a member. The other kid from Asia was a Korean, I think. I want to give anyone and everyone who needs a safe place, just that: a safe place. Where they won’t feel censored and inhibited to be themselves. No matter what or who they are.

But I have no idea how to make a forum. I need help.

The Best Thing Ragnarok Online Gave Me

It has given me the chance to relearn patience:

Level grind – My first time to create a character and I had to choose a priest! Man, was I frustrated. I kept thinking how helpless I was. I mainly depended on other characters to level up. Then I discovered that I could do it on my own. SLOWLY. And to think that it was important that I’d reach job 50 before changing jobs. But I finally did it. With the help of my boyfriend and another priest.

It has taught me to be more stingy:

Zeny Saving – I’m poor in the game. So I have to save and save and save. And loot and loot and loot. Jay calls me “MMDA” when we’re going through maps and he’s killing monsters while I keep bending over for loots.

It has taught me to be more carefree (to some extent):

Offensive Players – Sure. I hate rude people. But what the heck can I do about people who live thousands of kilometers away from me? So, yeah, I’m learning to let things slide more. Before, in-game and in-real-life situations, I would grow awfully furious and ruin everyone’s day. Now, it’s better. Or not. I don’t really know.

The bestest thing I got from RO is…

a sense of being someone. I don’t really care if it’s too superficial or whatnot. It doesn’t really matter. I enjoy doing things I’m good at. In RO, I’m good at being a support priestess so I’m enjoying it a whole lot.

Thank you Philippine Ragnarok Online!