Violence Against

This entry was supposed to be about school. And then I had to go and listen to At The Drive-In. Their song Invalid Litter Department really upset me. Not because I hated it. But more because I finally understand the song.

Everyday I acknowledge my need for music. Music is my drug, my addiction. I cannot live without music. And I have this dream: to be a rock star. Even if I know that I am not very good, I have this sincere desire to use it to make people aware of what’s going on in our world.

Anyway, going back to ATDI’s song. It speaks of the violence against women in Mexico. Women workers in American factories are raped, killed and are left in the desert to die and rot. The cases remain unresolved and many still seek justice for the deaths of their mothers, sisters, cousins, nieces, grandmothers, aunts. It breaks my heart to hear something going on like that. Well, the song was written a few years back but I don’t think there has been improvement. I’ll go check when I have more time.

I am really happy that one of the bands that I admire are using music to touch the social awareness of the people around them. Music has become this big institution. Many people are part of it: listeners, musicians, producers, record companies, etc. I am really proud to know that there are really some who take the power and publicity they have to make a difference, no matter how small.

I have been in and out of bands for the past couple of years. I guess I’m not moving forward in this dream is because I haven’t found the right set of band mates who share the same vision-mission as I have. If I really am to fulfill this dream, I have to stay true to what I wanna do and what I wanna say to the world.

*edit* I was in a hurry the last time I posted this entry that I forgot to add the video clip of ATDI’s song.

At The Drive-In – Invalid Litter Department

One Response

  1. hi
    I hope you wil make it singing the things you would like to share with the world.
    I thinhk is very improtend that we all do.Good Luck. I
    would like to listen the song you are writing aboat. Whats the name of the band and the song?
    thank you
    Teresa

Leave a Reply

