Maracas Man

Old and frail
A voice that strikes my heart
He sings as song,
full of emotion and soul
while he sounds his instrument
without a beat or tune.

Maracas strikes the hand
and a five peso coin
falls to the chair
from an uncaring listener.
He, who just wishes to have
a little piece of mind.

I trace the edge
of the coin in my hand.
Should I give it to him?
Should I keep it to myself?
Pangs of guilt in my gut,
I pass right by him.

The memory of his voice
and the maracas striking his palm
will stay with me.
Even if I forget
the words of his song.

2 Responses

  1. Nice work 🙂

  2. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

